happy day #51

OSCARS BABY!!!

Much as I love film I’m in it for the frocks. I may have dreamed of winning an Oscar (Best Original Screenplay obviously) but I can’t say I really put much stock in an awards ceremony that systematically ignores comedy and Gwyneth Paltrow for Shakespeare in Love?? Really??

Love the glitz though, the cheesy jokes, the painful rictus-like smiles and the joy of watching actors without lines.. this is why improv is a bad idea, take heed Mike Leigh..

But that’s not my prompt (nor is popcorn though that is popping as I type). This is. I read years ago that winners were forbidden to re sell their statues, which always seemed a little mean. But it turns out that’s just the tip of the iceberg, this gift has more strings than Pinnochio. I’ve never understood giving a gift and then putting proviso’s on it. It seems the height of selfishness, but maybe I’m being short sighted.

So…Gifts with strings..

TALK TO ME!

